I Made Muffins

If you are anything like me, Sunday nights usually involve the battle between wanting to spend the evening preparing for the week ahead and wanting to sit and do absolutely nothing. I really wish I could convince myself to lay out tomorrow’s outfit, meal prep for the next 4 days or whatever else Pinterest tells me is helpful. The victor of this battle, for me, is almost always the sitting.

However, tonight I made muffins.

  • I wanted something hearty for breakfast tomorrow.
  • I want every second of sleep possible on Mondasy so I know I won’t have the time in the morning to make anything of substance. I also know that Monday mornings do not allow me to sneak away from desk to get breakfast at the cafeteria.
  • I still had an inkling of energy left after my indoor soccer game – which was remarkably earlier than usual this week.
  • I had an urge to bake

All in all, I give myself an A for effort in the ‘meal planning’ department this week. I planned at least 3 days worth of breakfast. Go me!

Like any good 20 something, I went to Pinterest to find a recipe. These particular muffins boast of Greek yogurt, oatmeal and blueberries. They were simple, not necessarily quick though.

I perused many recipes and picked the one that required me to buy the least amount of ingredients. I also had to make sure that the winner didn’t have any peanut butter in it – I HATE peanut butter. I know, I know. I am complete weirdo. “Who doesn’t like peanut butter?!” I get that reaction almost as much as I called Candance. I have accepted it.

I made a quick trip to Fred Meyer to get the ONE ingredient I didn’t have – blueberries. It can be quite frustrating to go to the store for one measly ingredient. On a typical Sunday, I would have thrown in the towel, but tonight, I had some sort of resilience and made the trip anyway.

Skipping ahead, I had gotten all the way through mixing my dry ingredients and was about to add the butter to the second set of ingredients and something terrible happened. I didn’t have unsalted butter like I thought! So, naturally, I did what all adults do in situations like this. I called my mom. I calmly explained my dilemma. She suggested to add less salt. I had already added the 1/2 tsp of salt. She suggested less baking soda. I had already added 1 tsp of baking soda. She then said it wasn’t a big deal and to carry on. Phew. Dodged that bullet. Mom always knows what to do.

I finished the batter, spooned it into the muffin liners and popped those little guys in the oven. I had made quite the mess – me and flour haven’t ever really gotten along all that well. So I cleaned it all up and went back to my usual Sunday night sitting until the timer when off.

My first set of 12 muffins took 23 minutes to finish, the second set with just 2 muffins took 20. They are so tasty! Not too salty as a feared with the whole butter situation. Above I mentioned that I made at least 3 days worth of breakfast. With 14 muffins, that’s almost 5 a morning. That’s a lot of muffins for one person. Due to Mr. Boyfriend finding them pretty tasty, I assume I will realistically only be getting about 6 – 8 of them. Which is fine with me.

Parting thoughts:

This was a successful recipe and I highly recommend it. I am elated that I have something to look forward to in the morning.

This CanDance trial was a success. And it made me reminisce. I got to recall some of my childhood memories of being in the kitchen with my mom. I am grateful that she made me make biscuits from scratch on a regular basis so I know how to use a pastry cutter. I am happy that she showed me how to melt butter in coffee cups because they are easier to fit in the dishwasher than the little bowls. And more than anything, I am grateful that I can call her about butter mishaps and all other mishaps. 

RECIPE
Tools:

  • 2 medium to large mixing bowls
  • whisk
  • pastry cutter or dough blender (here is one that Amazon carries)
  • measuring cups/spoons
  • muffin/cupcake pan

Ingredients: 

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup oats (quick or regular)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups honey Greek yogurt (I used the Greek God brand)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 4 tbsp unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled (I used salted butter and it turned out fine)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. Spray muffin tins with non-stick spray or line with muffin liners.
    IMG_9190[1]
  3. Combine flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in one of the mixing bowls (the larger of the two if different sizes) and whisk together.
    IMG_9191[1]
  4. Combine yogurt, eggs, butter and vanilla in the second bowl and whisk together.
    IMG_9192[1]
  5.  Pour the yogurt mixture into the dry mixture. Use the pastry cutter to ‘fold’ the two mixtures together.The batter will feel very think and lumpy at first. As you continue to blend it together, it will form into a nice batter like consistency. IMG_9193[1] 
  6. Add the blueberries and gently blend them in using the pastry cutter.
  7. Spoon the mixture into each muffin hole, filling each one to about a 1/4 of a inch from the top. You can fill pretty close to the top, just make sure the batter doesn’t spill over. The recipe says it will make 12 muffins but my mixutre made 14.
  8. Bake for 20-25. When you gently tap the top and it springs back, they are done!

IMG_9194[1]

Original Recipe found here!

Leave a Reply

